Interview with Balloon Hero, The Galvanic and Gentle Tatyana DjeTa Lyashko

Standard
Interview with Balloon Hero, The Galvanic and Gentle Tatyana DjeTa Lyashko

Tatyana DjeTa Lyashko is another of my top balloon heroes. She is from Russia, which I have to say Russia is really kicking butt in the balloon world. Every country’s balloon community seems to have a certain flavor and style to it and I find that the Russian style is my favorite.

I was privileged to meet Tatyana via Facebook and have enjoyed learning from her via her tutorials and becoming friends. She has a baby son and you can see her tender love for her child through her recent string of baby designs. She has a gentle whimsical flair and is extremely polished and clean both in her work and her photography. Gentle, galvanic and kind, these are the things that come to mind both when looking at her work and talking to her. I love that combination of how her work evokes so much excitement and yet is so gentle. It is a gentle thrill of delight.

She is amazing and I just know she will be making huge waves in the balloon art industry. It will be exciting to see her journey and what is yet to come from her genius brain!

She has a Facebook page for her business, DjeTa Balloons, where you can follow her work and find out more about her tutorials= https://www.facebook.com/djetaballoons?fref=photo.

I asked if she would participate in an interview for my blog and she happily said yes!
So here you go, meet Tatyana!

20150525-115435.jpg

1. What is your favorite balloon sculpture that you have made? What is your favorite balloon sculpture that someone else has made?

My favorite designs are created recently and also a few figures that I made some time ago.

IF

IF

 

My favorite designs created by other artist:

First Favorite by awesome Takehiro Kai, he is my hero.

8

2nd Favorite Piece made by Masako Nomura

14

2. Do you have any balloon heroes? If so who?
First of all, there is the stunning, incredibly talented Takehiro Kai. Also I admire designs by Romina Finali, Lily Tan, Joseph Ho, and Russian artist Sergey Kargapol’tsev.

3. How would you describe your personality? What are you like? Is there a fictional character you really identify with?
I’m not very good at talking about myself. I can’t call myself a closed, introverted person, just, most likely, I prefer to listen and not to talk.
I believe in kindness and in my dream.

4. Do you have any personal goals you hope to achieve involving this art? Is there any kind of project you would like to see realized? What would be your dream project?
I dream to visit the WBC, to participate in the competition and, of course, win. As for projects, my dream, my goal, is to open my own party-store combined with a candy shop (I am an incredible sweet tooth). I want it to be a fabulous store, the kingdom of fun, the dream of all children.

5. How long have you been twisting balloons? What caused you to start twisting?
I have been doing balloons for about 5 years. I decided to try twisting after I saw pictures of works by Takehiro Kai. These photos became a real discovery for me, I didn’t think that it was possible to make something like that of the balloons.

6. What is your favorite balloon color and shape?
My favorite color is yellow. Also I love polka dot balloons in any color.
Now my favorites are the hearts, I discovered many ways to use them.

7. What would you say is your favorite memory involving balloon twisting?
The most memorable for me was my first attempt at twisting. I learned how to make an apple twist, then my hands ached the next day. I guess I did something wrong.

8. How has balloon twisting influenced how you see life and or how has the way you see life influenced your balloon twisting?
I notice that sometimes I imagine in my head how to do this or that subject out of balloons. Often any important events or changes in my life are reflected in the creative process.

9. What has been the greatest challenge so far when it comes to balloon art or making a business with balloon art?
Probably the biggest challenge is to overcome the stereotypes about balloons from potential customers and buyers. They don’t know and, unfortunately, don’t always want to know what decorative possibilities there are with balloons. It is often difficult to sell an expensive, but effective decor. Many customers prefer the standard, uninteresting elements simply because they are cheaper.

10. What are your other interests and hobbies?
I love to read books, and, as a consequence in my opinion, I love to travel. I love to photograph interesting things, do yoga, rollerblading, love long walks.

11. What do you think your balloon art says about you? Is there any feeling you are hoping to evoke in people?
I love making pieces that bring a smile, with some irony. I want to improve adult client’s moods by looking at my work, and kids to squeal with delight. I believe my designs say something about me (just hope nothing bad or secret), but better to ask someone else.

12. What is one of your favorite balloon twisting memories? Have you ever had an especially meaningful encounter or experience because of this art?
I believe that all the best and meaningful memories, challenges and victories I will have are yet to come.

Some more of her wonderful work.

465

¾

Leave a Reply

