450th Balloon Sculpture, Cat in the Hat and Thing 1 & Thing 2 Display

Standard

It was Dr. Seuss’s birthday yesterday and so I made this display for my kiddo’s school to celebrate.

I polished up a Cat in the Hat holding Norval column that I had made 2 years ago, you can see pictures and my post here, https://patriciaballoona.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/188th-balloon-sculpture-cat-in-the-hat-display/.  I made everything cleaner and improved the face.

I also added Thing 1 and Thing 2 to the scene. I used this picture on Pinterest for inspiration but I did not like how the body was done and polished up the design. I basically used the picture for ideas for the hair and face.

It came out so wonderfully and they just feel alive. There is just something extra magical about it.

I was so touched seeing all the kids and teachers faces as they reacted to the display. So many people were tickled to see I even had Norval. It was like finding a hidden Easter egg and it was so funny to see even grown ups get so gitty when they spotted him.

Art bringing instant connection, not just with me and the audience but the audience connecting instantly together among themselves.

A magical experience all around. 🙂 That’s why I do this.

patriciaballoona1

 

patriciaballoona8

patriciaballoona12  patriciaballoona5 patriciaballoona10

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

