429nth and 430th Balloon Sculptures, Blue Macaw and Tropical Tree

Standard

I made this Blue Macaw in Tropical Tree recently for a birthday party.  This pieces stands at 5 ft 8 inches.

I was inspired by a picture of Phileas Flash’s Blue Macaw as far as the face and I tried out for the very first time the loop weave technique and used that for the body.

The loop weave technique was invented by Sabina Kellner. You can inquire about her tutorial for it and see her wonderful work on her website, http://twistart.at/.

The tree is just something I came up with that harkens back to my fall tree I made for my Winnie the Pooh display.

I used the wonderful flower design of my dear friend the Balloon Sage for accents on the tree.

You can see his wonderful tutorial for it here, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgD7O_wCWNA&list=UUBJU5gNzXfE_goH0gmXo6hQ.

Below is what I came up with as a result of marrying all these different inspirations together. 🙂

facebook patricia balloona bird  facebook patricia balloona bird 3

 

 

5 responses »

  1. Hey, listen, this is better than the Christmas stuff. This is my favorite thing I have seen you do in a long time. Really love the way the tree is done and the bird looks amazing; the color theory is spot on and this is just a wonderful piece.

Leave a Reply

