408th and 409nth Balloon Sculptures, Star and 11 ft. Tall Minion

Standard

I feel I just leveled up in balloon making skill,lol. I made and donated this to my kiddo’s school and they incorporated it into their pep rally and a kid leadership program they are initiating to help inspire their students called Shine.

This is a Dante Longhi balloonified design that I replicated and modified. This structure, when you include the star, is made up of 1,000 balloons! It stands at 11 ft tall.

I had to disassemble and reassemble it in order to get it to the gym. I had to put it on the poles all by myself which was a daunting task let me tell you,lol.

The eyeball was super tricky and I wrestled with that alone for an hour,lol.

The star I made with no framing whatsoever and it uses nothing but round balloons.

Below is what I made and it brought me to tears to hear all the students and teachers react when the curtain was pulled back for a dramatic reveal. It was such a powerful and instantly connecting moment.

For me this is just a stepping stone to the really even bigger plans and goals I have in my head. I want to make sculptures that reflect in size the magnitude of my passion.

For me art is meant to be shared and there is nothing more wonderful and meaningful than bring awe and wonder out in adults as well as children.

Hope you like it as much as I liked making it. 🙂

Video of it here,

facebook 3

facebook 2

facebook 7

facebook 9

Leave a Reply

