369nth Balloon Sculpture, Michael Gjerek Vase

Standard

I have to say that ever since I stumbled across Michael Gjerek’s work, which I don’t even remember how it happened but I am now a forever fan.

I have to say that he is now one of my all time favorite balloon artists if not the favorite. He is from Slovenia.

Somehow I stumbled across this BalloonsIt Facebook page, where I saw a picture of a vase that just blew me away made by Michael Gjerek whom I think runs BalloonsIT.

I clicked on the link that was provided under the picture of it to the site of its source and to my surprise it had a picture tutorial.

Now I will confess, I had a very hard time following what was going on in the pictures. I really struggled and wrestled and wrestled with it. I had to just practice and practice and experiment until I got something that worked. I still don’t know if I did it right or just found a different way,lol.

I have never seen or done anything like this before, this referring to the top and the bottom of the vase. There were subtleties to it that had tremendous affect on the outcome and structure, everything for me was hinged on figuring out the subtleties.

However, I was given enough information to be able to get started, and getting started is really key.

I didn’t give up and I went through a ridiculous amount of balloons to get this but I am soooooooo excited and happy to have made this vase and I am really proud of myself for not giving up.

We shouldn’t give up or think that if something doesn’t come easy to us that it isn’t something worth pursuing. We don’t get better by sticking with anything that comes easy. We get better by being challenged, by trial and error, failing and getting up again.

Even the placement of the roses I made was a learning process, I had to go through many trials of error until I figured out how to go about balloon flower arrangement. I learned so much from this project and I especially learned how I can problem solve-I can do it, and it isn’t even easy, and that is just fine, it isn’t supposed to be easy. Beauty comes from the struggle an artist wages with his limited medium, not the easiness of it.

Hope you like it. This was a feat for me and an eye opening process.

I took it to my mother’s house and she loves it and my daughter is modeling with it below.

facebook1

facebook yes 4

facebook yes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

