343rd Balloon Sculpture, Charmander

Standard

I saw a picture of a Charmander made by Dylan Gelinas and I sought to see if I could figure it out just by looking at it.

I actually think I did a pretty good job with the exception of the eyes,lol. I remember now that you should do the white part first and then add your colors, he should have had some blue in there and then the black. Mine has a ghost look. The haunted ghost of Charmander!

I also added a balloon flame rather than a picture of a flame on my mine.

It was really cool because my daughter was pretending to be a Pokémon trainer and she added this with her Pikachu on her make believe adventures,lol.

I love the rounds for the bottom legs idea and how the belly is done and the head approach I have seen from Nifty Balloons and I have always thought that was an ingenious use of hearts. I went through several iterations before I made this. Something I am learning from trying to figure things out on my own is that Occam’s Razor seems to apply very often.

Occam’s Razor states that the simplest answer is usually the right answer.  “It states that among competing hypotheses, the one with the fewest assumptions should be selected. Other, more complicated solutions may ultimately prove correct, but—in the absence of certainty—the fewer assumptions that are made, the better.” Quoting from Wikipedia.

One can easily over think things when problem solving for designs and I have found if I say to myself, there is probably a simpler way to go about this and then simplify my approach- it usually ends up looking how I want it to.

balloon 022

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Bwahahaha. There is something very amusing about this one! You have picked another first stage first generation starter pokemon, a great addition to Pikachu! He definitely looks like Charmander and even if it is not aesthetically precise, EVERYONE will instantly know this. I am suppose you will be picking squirtle next lol.

Leave a Reply

