334th Balloon Sculpture, Sage Sea Turtle

Standard

My awesome pal the Balloon Sage has come up with a most awesome design for a sea turtle bracelet. This design calls for 160’s and a 5 inch round.

Link to his YouTube tutorial here,

Part 1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4hC-yUP2hr8

Part 2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2QadQDvop8

He does an awesome job instructing and goes at a very considerate learning pace and he is just a really cool super likable guy.  This is my favorite sea turtle design for making for kiddos. Great Job Sage!

I replicated his design and stayed pretty faithful to it although I had an extra pinch twist on the neck just cause I wasn’t paying enough attention to what I was doing,lol.  I did make an additional alternate turtle shell using a flat weave technique and I found that if you want a faster go at it- use the flat weave. If you like the all brown look on the top of the shell which I actually think I prefer, then his method is the best. Compare below.

Flat Weave

balloon 021

Sage Method

balloon 025

Turtle as a whole, look he’s swimming in the ocean!

balloon 004

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

