333rd Balloon Sculpture, Castle Columns

Standard

I was recently hired to make some castle columns by a client who saw a picture of some on Pinterest, http://www.pinterest.com/pin/138485757266193108/.

I made the cones on the top as well as the balloon work. She was in charge of flags and the stone paper but forgot the paper for the event and she got there too late to apply flags. Because the event was held at a place with stone floors, it still worked,lol. She really didn’t need the stone paper so much,lol. I feel like the flags would have been a nice addition but I still think it works quite nice without them. Next time I will just make sure I am in charge of all the details as life just happens and people throwing an event are simply too busy to remember everything. They have sooo much to bring in and carry and transport for the party themselves that I can totally understand forgetting.

Making the cones wide enough took a lot of practice and problem solving. Luckily I am married to a math instructor! After much trial and error I ended up asking him for help and he completely used math to save the day! STAY IN SCHOOL KIDS!  MATH IS POWER! 🙂

I used robin’s egg and light blue but next time I think I will use a darker blue for the top and bottom contrast color. In person the robin’s egg stood out pretty well but in pictures they are not as striking. It is very subtle, which is a pretty look even and of itself.

I made chains streaming down to the bottom and secured with weighted water balloons.

Below are pictures of my work.

pic to post on blog

pic to post on blog 2

pic to post on blog 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 responses »

  1. Hi there. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…… Non-balloons on a balloon sculpture is scary and confusing to me lol! I honestly don’t know what to make of this one Patricia. I mean, it is obviously well done, but this is confusing to me. It looks great, but… I can’t put my finger on it. Nice job! I am sure these went over well.

    • Lol. I personally like mixed media and non balloon items with balloons but again, that I think it is a matter of taste. I think if I did it over again that I would have the cones be a little taller and flags. I would also have the balloons maybe just a little smaller. Overall I am very happy with it though. I love your hmmmmmmm, lol.

      • I honestly try to type in my unfiltered guttural reaction while the process of assessment is happening haha

      • I had an idea for making a stupid traffic come design by weaving a simple cone shape with a small rounded opening on top and some kind of square balloon base which is also neon orange, with pearl white 160s for a reflective ring. However, this is beyond my current skill set to accomplish proficiently. Is there any reason besides time/ supply cost that you did not weave cones? Was it the customers aesthetic preference??

      • Well yes, the weaving of the cones would have added to the labor and cost. She was originally in charge of the cones but had trouble making them. She was set on having what she saw in the picture.

        I took it upon myself to help and take over that project. I preferred the style cones she wanted as well as not only do I like the mixed media but it was also more functional as far as car space.

        It turned out to be a lot more work than I had anticipated and I did not seek compensation for time as I felt I should have asked for compensation ahead of time. I did ask to be compensated for materials but that wasn’t that much at all. I figured learning how to make the cones was worth my while and was an investment in future projects and jobs should I be asked to make them again. I now realize to never underestimate the deception of the simple looking tasks as they are often more time consuming and complicated than they seem, lol. I also now realize how to edit my labor cost for this project but now that I know what I am doing, it will be much faster and there won’t be a learning curve involved but I will factor in the labor for the cones as well as balloons. Basically it will be more win win for the customer and myself.

Leave a Reply

