318nth Balloon Sculpture, Cupid In the Clouds Giant Heart

Standard

I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day yesterday!

Valentine’s Day is extra special to me because my husband proposed to me on V-day 12 years ago. 🙂

I wanted to make something special for my husband and daughter and so I decided to try out this lattice style heart design.

I came across and really love ШАРОВЕДАВ which when I put it in Google translate came out to SHAROVEDAV. It is a Belarusian language.

The language refers to Belarus, or “officially the Republic of Belarus, which is a country in Eastern Europe[5] bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. Its capital is Minsk.”

Quoting from Wikipedia=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belarus.

How neat that balloons can educate and introduce people to whole new countries and peoples!? Through my own ignorance, I had never before heard of his country or of this language.

I really love his work and will be replicating and reviewing a lot of his designs.

He has a YouTube tutorial for how to make this lattice style heart, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4JW3y3F-zY.

I decided I wanted to make a little scene using this lattice heart as the backdrop. I made a cupid in the clouds aiming his love arrow. I also made another cloud bundle with some hearts just to add some balance.

I made my heart bigger by altering the number of squares I made for this heart. I added somewhere between 6 to 10 more squares.

Here is what I came up with as a result.

balloon 030

balloon 009

balloon 011

balloon 002

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

