Interview with Balloon Hero, Silvia Gallo

Standard

I came across the lovely Brazilian Balloon Artist, Silvia Gallo, on Facebook. How I came across her I don’t even remember. I remember looking at pictures of her work and squealing with excitement, “I want to make that too!” Her work is simply amazing and is very inspiring.

She started right off the bat doing balloon décor, the kind that I am interested in doing and didn’t even know existed until much later after I got swept into balloon art.

She is from Brazil but now resides and works in Ottawa, Canada. Her business is named Balloon Art and the Facebook page link for it is here= https://www.facebook.com/balloonart.ca.

She is stunning just like her work. 🙂 Here is a picture of her with her handsome husband Juan.

eu1

She was kind enough to participate in an interview with me.

1. How long have you been twisting and what is your origin story with this art? What got you started in the first place?

My husband and I have been working with balloon design since 2012.

When we were planning my son’s first birthday we could not find a company to decorate the party the way we wanted, so we’ve decided to do it by ourselves. We took balloon courses in Brazil and the party was a success!

2. What is your favorite piece that you have made? What is your favorite piece that someone else has made?

I love everything we do but I would say my favorites until now  ” The very hungry caterpillar” sculpture we made for a girl 1st birthday and the Owl panel for a baby shower.

BSF4

image

 

My favorite piece that someone has made is a Mickey Mouse train made by Luiz Carlos Silvia from Cenario baloes company in Brazil.http://www.cenariobaloes.com.br/fotos-detalhes/?id=10#

3. Do you have any particular goals or projects that you hope to see realized?

I have a dream: to see our business becoming well know in the city of Ottawa, Canada. I hope one day when people think about balloons they think/associate with Balloon Art! I dream that one day I will be able to do it full time.

4. What advice do you have for those starting out on this venture? Is there anything you wish someone had told you when you started out?

If you are going to do it, give your best! Love what you are doing.

5. What is your favorite color and shape balloon and why?

I truly like the rainbow blue -Super Agate-(11′ and 30′) colors from Qualatex. It reminds me of the ocean.

6. What has your business side of the journey been like? Has there been anything that really surprised you? Has it been easier and or harder than you thought?

We have never expected to have a balloon business, it happened naturally; we did our son’s first b-day and then friends and friends of friends started to ask for balloons and that is how everything happened.

7. Do you have any balloon heroes? If so, who?

I really admire the work of Luiz Carlos Silva, he owns the most creative balloon business(Cenario Baloes) in Brazil I can say his work is very inspiring to us!

8. What are your other hobbies/interests?
We have full time jobs during the week not related to balloons! Our hobby is balloons!
9. Who are your biggest supporters and cheerleaders for you with this venture? How have they impacted your journey with this art?

I would say our family and friends are huge supporters and believers of this wonderful venture!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

