Why Your Critics Aren’t The Ones Who Count

Standard

I have become a huge fan of Brene Brown and her research into vulnerability and shame. I am posting this because I feel these insights apply to all artists, even balloon artists, and if you ever struggle with being afraid to put your work out there or if ever you are too afraid to fail at something you love, then you need to hear this, I know I needed to hear this.

This applies to business as well as art. Not only is this an art for me, but it is also my business, there are so many layers to how I am vulnerable when it comes to balloons, and there are so many ways in which I am putting myself out there. I know there are countless others who can relate.

I came across this talk of hers where she is speaking to a large group of what she calls sweaty creatives.

This talk has to do with art and design and putting yourself out there and not letting the critics (both external and internal) stop us from experiencing the bliss and connection that comes from putting our ideas, our art, ourselves out there, from being seen.

“Design is a function of connection.”

“There is nothing more vulnerable than creativity and what is art if it is not love.”

I had an epiphany much like this in which I shared how I realize that balloon art is my true passion because it is the only thing I have found that is more important and takes precedence over my own ego, https://patriciaballoona.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/why-balloon-sculpting/.

Brene gave me many more layers to think about, while I realized some of these things that she talks about, there was plenty that I needed to hear and that I did not realize. I recommend all her talks, they are truly inspiring and insightful and wonderful.

Here is a description below.

“There is nothing more frightening than the moment we expose our ideas to the world. Author and vulnerability researcher Brené Brown shows us how to deal with the critics and our own self-doubt by refusing to “armor up” and shut ourselves off. “Not caring what people think,” she says, “is its own kind of hustle.”

Instead we must “reserve a seat” for the critics and our own self-doubt. “Tell them, I see you, I hear you, but I’m going to do this anyway.”

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

