265th to 266th Balloon Sculptures, Scarecrow Column and Cornucopia

Standard

I had a very exciting day yesterday! I was hired to make a balloon scarecrow themed column and a cornucopia for a school’s fall carnival.

I don’t know why but for some reason I was totally anxious when it came time to do the project which was yesterday morning as it was due in the afternoon. I was almost sick to my stomach nervous. I had no idea what I was going to do as far as making this thing,lol.

Displays and Dรฉcor are what I really want to do most and I think because that is so important to me and what I want most of all that I just had so much fear of failing and had a ton of pressure on myself.

You know a good quote can keep me going and really and truly help me when I am faced with dilemmas or am at a defining moment in my life. I was such a nervous wreck that I was sick to my stomach. I had the fantasy of just quitting but I remembered this quote I read in my Book of Quotations.

James Agate said that, “A professional is a man who can do his job when he doesn’t feel like it. An amateur is a man who can’t do his job when he does feel like it.”

That quote popped into my head the second I fantasized about running away into a cave in the mountains, lol. I am a professional. My acting training has taught and instilled in me that the show must go on, it isn’t about you- it is about the audience. They must come first. Again, this is where the ego must take a back seat to the passion and not be afraid to fail.

So I just went for it.

I used this picture as a reference for a scarecrow,

24675

For the cornucopia, I was going to use Happy Cabby’s YouTube tutorial- but apparently there is some kind of major drama going on and his channel isn’t there and there are video’s dedicated to complaining about Happy Cabby?! I just watched his balloon tutorials so I have no idea what in the world he was up to and doing but my goodness- there must be some kind of major drama! I had to just come up with the cornucopia on my own as well,lol.

Side note, I also used a picture of a balloon maple leaf made by Derek Wong of Twisted Inflations as inspiration and tried to replicate as best as I could by looking at a picture for the column I made.

As for the scarf, I got my fabric making know how thanks to Michael Langermans YouTube video, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EycNKDPMyg. I made a bunch of small sections and then tied them together to make the scarf.

I also made a black cat and pumpkins for accents.

Below is what I came up with and designed for the fall carnival. ๐Ÿ™‚ Everyone loved it and I am so glad that I made it and am a professional! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

1385254_648255351864293_1104117290_n

1097994_648255951864233_1864924179_n

1377451_648256208530874_301217305_n

2013-10-10 15.44.04

2013-10-10 15.44.39

ย 

ย 

 

6 responses »

    • Yeah, it is inspired by a picture I saw of Dylan Gelinas’ cat but I figured it out for myself and it evolved some. I am still experimenting and playing around with it. I was trying out different things with this version. I am going to try other things and keep experimenting.

  1. I love it! I am always excited to read your blogs and see what you have come up with. Lol I admire your willingness to share your vuneralbilities (did I spell that right?). You are an inspiration. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

