251st Balloon Sculpture, Wearable Butterfly Wings

Standard

Well, I have been sick and today is actually my birthday,lol. I am 31 now,lol. I guess I finally am qualifying as an adult,lol. I feel like I need to go to Baskin Robbins and try a sample of all their flavors,lol. It will be a symbolic reflective ritual, each sample representing a re-tasting of all my 31 years here on earth,lol.

I made some butterfly wings for my little one a few days ago and boy does she sure love it. I am not sure if you have ever heard of the book Lady Bug Girl and Bumble Bee Boy,

but it is a great story and in it there are a group of kids who are known as The Bug Squad! My little one loves this story.

I got my butterfly wing making know how from Nifty Balloons.

For 35.00 dollars you can purchase Nifty Balloons’, Backpacks= http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=65.

Now awesomely enough in this tutorial package- there is a ladybug backpack design, a bumble bee and I think one could adjust for a dragonfly as there is a dragonfly girl in the story as well as a butterfly girl, so the whole bug squad can be suited up balloon style. πŸ™‚

Now I did some modifications to the wings. I used 350’s for the wings rather than 260’s, though I still used the 260’s for the straps and antennae. The way I did the bottom part of the wings are different, I made two pinch twists with them and attached them to the pink upper wings. I used two balloons for them rather than one and again I used 350’s rather than 260’s. I made the antennae a lot longer too,lol.

Pictures of my version below. My daughter modeling below. She really ran around a ton with these on and worked herself up a sweat,lol. My plan is to make all the different bug squad balloon wings and give them to her and her friends so that they can play bug squad,lol. πŸ™‚

100_6957

Β 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

