240th, 241st and 242nd Balloon Sculptures= Number 6, Unicorn Pegasus Ride Inside, and TREE!

Standard
240th, 241st and 242nd Balloon Sculptures= Number 6, Unicorn Pegasus Ride Inside, and TREE!

Well folks, today is my 11 month anniversary in my balloon twisting journey.

I had quite a large order for a friend who hired me to make some balloons for her daughter’s 6th birthday a couple of days ago. I am going out of order on what all I did the past several days as how could I contain my excitement on the big feat accomplished!

It was magical how everything worked out. I had to have my friend’s balloons done by 4 p.m. as I had a birthday party at 5 p.m. at a different house.

I woke up early in the morning to make the giant 6 and the Unicorn Pegasus ride inside balloon.

The pony ride inside balloon is a Nifty balloons design, for reference check out this post. I adapted it to look like a Unicorn Pegasus with rainbow hair as requested.

I made Andre Nolle style wings and I learned a new weaving technique called a wheat weave to get a nice braided look for the pony’s hair.

For reference for wing look at my phoenix post.

For wheat weave resource, check out this forum post link and look for the pictures, http://balloon-animals.com/forum/index.php/topic,4003.msg55320.html#msg55320.

For the number six I referenced a picture of a balloon number 6 and then figured it out by myself. The theme for 6 was fairy. I made a fairy with a long flower weave dress holding a little humming bird.

I made these two big items at my house and packed them in the car.

I got to my friend’s house at noon. I had 4 hours to make my next item on the list, a giant tree!

I used this picture as a reference.

2013-08-13 04.28.53

At noon at my friend’s house, I finished the 6 by making a base for it. Her hardwood floors kept popping the purple bottom balloons and it took 30 minutes for me to get it working right as things just kept going wrong with it. Usually I can get a base done in 5 to 10 minutes. I brought my kiddo along as her kids and my kids are close friends and it was also a birthday playdate. There was constant knocking and running around and I came close to having a heart attack repeatedly,lol.

So then I had 3 and 1/2 hours to make a giant tree, the likes of which I had never made before! And- me and my friend personally blew up every balloon for it,lol.

I just dove in and prayed and hoped for the best. I figured it was a basic column with just clusters of balloons all jumbled together. I am sure there is a refined and highly engineered way to go about this but I do not know that that is,lol.

I made the column, and just made clusters. All different kinds of clusters and I twisted them together until something round looking came out of it,lol. It was intense and fun and nerve wracking and fun!

It was jazz music baby- lots of improv and just going with the flow and see how it go!

I finished at like 4:12! One of the brown balloons popped but I didn’t dare mess with it. I took pictures for 18 minutes and packed up and got my kiddo ready to leave with me for my next gig. The people at my next gig invited my daughter to come along which I thought was really cool and nice and she had a blast.

I left my friend’s house at exactly 4:30 and, which let me tell you- was an act of GOD,lol. I had the perfect amount of time to get to my next gig at 5 p.m.

So here below are pictures.

I can breathe now,lol. I am still recouping from what has been my busiest weekend ever and my hands are still sore,lol. I could not be happier!

My friend did not want pics of her kids in anything so my daughter Natalie is

seen modeling below.

If you want to see pictures set to music, I have made a video here, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxuD9IdvJeE

100_6591

 

100_6581

100_6582

100_6612

 

2 responses »

  1. Spectacular!…thanks for sharing because people really don’t understand the multitasking & running against the clock a lot of these creations involve…but the WOW!! factor can be really worth it at the end! Beautiful Work!

    • Thank you so much!!!! Your comments always lift me up and I am so appreciative of your empathy and understanding! 🙂

Leave a Reply

