225th Balloon Sculpture, Pirate Mask

Standard

Nifty Balloons has an awesome mask tutorial bundle with 14 designs for $35.00 that can be purchased here= http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=57&osCsid=9d2f1c60c456c4870f8c47ed0266d72d

Their tutorials are top notch and have the highest productions values I have seen yet. They are very clear and the steps are way approachable save for you may need practice making sidewall bubbles. What I really love about these is that once you learn the foundations structure it really opens up all kinds of possibilities. These are sooo much fun to make and get a very excited reception from people.

I highly recommend it! Preview of masks video here, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7VxBPoNlvw

I am loving my purchase!

I made the pirate and really love it.  I don’t think I made any changes other than the substitutes I had to make, with the exception that I hid the pinch twist at the top of the forehead to make for an even cleaner look. My substitutions= they show you a black balloon with a skull already printed on it, I had to draw mine on. I also did not have a gold 160 and had to use a silver for the earring. I did leave out the ball like garnish on the sword accessory as I didn’t feel like drawing that small of a skull and bones,lol.

I took the pirate mask and sword to the place where my daughter gets occupational therapy. The employees just loved it and took pictures of each other wearing it. There was a little boy who had written me a note asking for a sword the week before, I had made balloons for kids and employees the week before while in the waiting room and apparently he missed out. He was there when I brought in the pirate goodies and I gave him the sword without knowing about the note. I was then given the note afterwards. It was such a touching moment.  It really made the little boy’s day and I love that he got not just any sword, but a mega sword! I will keep that note forever. 🙂

Enough yapping, now pictures! My husband modeling it below.

Note, I later pushed the mouth out some and it completely hid and got rid of all gaps.

100_5968

100_5964

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Just started Trying to make the masks , the sidewall bubbles ARE intense .. I keep having issues with the small ones popping in the midst of my sculpting . Hoping to have a completed one shortly .

Leave a Reply

