218nth Balloon Sculpture, Nifty Balloons’ Monkey Mask

Standard

Nifty Balloons are just amazing and awesome. They have the highest production value for tutorials that I have ever seen and they are just polished pros with amazing designs.

For $35.00 you can get a mask themed tutorial package that has 14 different mask designs for you to learn. It is a download and you can access it anytime from your account after you set one up. Here is a link that will take you right to it.  http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=57&osCsid=3032c68ef5cb4862516a5224b8affe89

Here is a YouTube commercial or preview I guess they call it-

 

 

David Brenion is the instructor and walks you through everything. The basic mask structure he teaches you is truly an amazing and handy foundational design that can lead to all kinds of possibilities.

He does elaborate on the foundation and that is where the 14 distinct designs come in.

The first one on the list is the Monkey.

I strayed from the tutorial in a few ways. First of all- I moved the pupils of the eyes more towards the center of the eyes. Second, I made four loops for little hair on the top detail rather than his three. Thirdly, I made the eyebrows a bit longer just to see what it would look like.

The below is the result of my first run. I still need to practice things like proportions and such but overall am very happy with the result.

The mask is both simple and tricky. The trickiness seems to lie in the proportioning and getting the right softness of the balloons. The construction is very simple but brilliant. You look at what he is doing and it looks like a piece of cake and you can follow the blueprint of it just fine- but wrangling with the balloons is a different matter,lol. Head’s up, you will need to be able to make sidewall bubbles in order to make these designs. Become one with the sidewall bubble! LOL They even have a free how to video for making sidewall bubbles here= http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=41.

I am still pretty green when it comes to dealing with 350’s and 646’s especially and they are dominant in these designs. David just twists them and moves them around like Michael Jordan maneuvers a basketball,lol. It is doable, he gives me hope, but it takes a lot of practice to be so fluid in those movements with those balloons. I look forward to taking these balloons on a rodeo with these tutorials and conquering them to where they do my bidding with ease, lol.

I am sooo happy with my purchase and can’t wait to make all 14 and even create my own characters with this base!

So Yadda Yadda Yadda, I made the monkey and below is my replication. My daughter Natalie and my husband John are in pictures below modeling the mask.

 

 

My daughter is holding her blankie and sucking her thumb,lol.

100_5792

 My monkey man,lol.

100_5802

2013-07-18 17.14.20

8 responses »

  1. I am pretty sure that these designs are not theirs originally. They have taken Don Caldwells ( Buster Balloon) designs and are selling them.

    • I am not really familiar with Buster Balloons’ work. I know he has a really cool fishbowl design and I have seen his dog. I know that he has teamed up with David Brenion of Nifty Balloons and they are going on a tour together. I need to research about Don, I know that he is credited with really making huge innovations and contributions to the balloon twisting world.

      http://www.tmyers.com/TJam2013/FrontPage.html

      Don must not be too upset,lol.

      • Don is to balloons what David Copperfield is to magic. I have had the pleasure of studing with him in person on multiple occasions. He has so many projects going on that he probably gave them the go ahead to do the mask. I just knew they sure looked like his work. He has a distinct style and these mask really show it.

      • That is pretty cool. That sounds like an awesome experience. I see that he has videos on YouTube for making balloon puppets that fit some kind of robotic puppet set up. It is never ending the amazing things going on in the balloon world!

Leave a Reply

