208th Balloon Sculpture, Sam Cremeen’s Monkey

Standard

Sam Cremeens has a pretty dang cute Monkey design on balloon animal’s blog’s store, say that three times fast,lol. For 5 dollars you can purchase his tutorial, http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=67.

The tutorial is like 30 minutes long and what I like most about it is it taught me new approaches and techniques.

I really love how the face is done. I also really love the hands and the banana. My only big complaint is that I think the legs could be done differently. I am going to play around with it and see about changing the bottom. For one thing, there are no butt cheeks, and making a monkey without butt-cheeks is sacrilegious in my book, not as sacrilegious as making a Kermit parody without a rainbow, but pretty high up there on the blasphemy list,lol. I just think the legs could be improved some but it isn’t a make or break thing in my opinion. It is a brilliant design and I had a lot of fun making it, although I watched with my Ipod and that made assessing his measurements harder. I am definitely following the tutorial with a bigger screen next time.

I tweaked the nose part just the teeniest bit by making two really tiny loop twists for nostrils. He does something else.

This design requires:

  • 1 Blush 350 360
  • 4 Mocha Brown 260s
  • 3 Blush 260s
  • 1 Mocha Brown 160
  • 3 Blush 160s
  • 1 Black 260
  • 1 White 260
  • 1 Yellow 260

Sam is a very good instructor and the production quality is pretty good.

Pictures of my replications below.

2013-07-10 17.17.17

 

100_5680

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

