152nd Balloon Sculpture, Big Pirate

Standard

So, my daughter’s friend Lil had a birthday party today at Pump It Up and I just got home and had to blog about it,lol.

I made a big pirate for her and pirate hats for all the party attendees along with pirate swords.

And guess who Lil’s parents are? Patrick and Jessi, the awesome people who believed in me and asked me to make a balloon Dalek costume! See post 123 for Dalek Costume post.

Pump It Up started doing a pirate themed birthday party package so Patrick and Jessi were all over that! Pump It Up is an indoor inflatable playground. It is a ton of fun and the parents can play on everything too,lol.

I went online and looked at this pirate picture for reference.

Balloon-Pirate-sculpture-2

I used the technique I learned from making Dylan Gelinas’s, Bartleby the Leprechaun for the face and altered how you do the nose and of course the hands I used from the Leprechaun tutorial as well though with an extra finger added and a wrist. I tried to make the hat like the picture above originally but my husband didn’t like it and didn’t like the one in the picture either,lol, so I just went with the hat I learned from Andre Nolle.

For Pirate hat post see=

https://patriciaballoona.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/47th-balloon-sculpture-pirate-hat/

For Leprechaun post I refer to see=

https://patriciaballoona.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/147th-balloon-sculpture-the-dylan-gelinas-bartleby-the-leprechaun/

I made the teeth differently and I have no idea if I came up with a new technique or not,lol. I didn’t want bubbles, I wanted something more, well, teethy,lol. He has a gold tooth in his smile too. :)The parrot I just made up but borrowed heavily from what I learned from iancarlo4 with the cockatiel. There is of course an eye patch on him,lol.

I also made a peg leg out of a link-o-loon.

The belt I feel needed to be bigger on the top but I was already too twisted up with that piece to mess with it,lol.

So here is what I came up with and here is what I made for Lil’s birthday party.

People were freaking out over the balloons and that just gives me such a happy high I can’t even begin to tell you! I love seeing the wows and the jaws wide open. People’s heads were exploding with happiness! It doesn’t get better than that folks! πŸ™‚

This is a Patricia Balloona design though it stands on the shoulders of many other balloon artists. (FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.) πŸ™‚

Enough talk, now pics!

100_2669

100_2639

100_2674

He ended up being on the throne,lol.

100_2723

My daughter on the right and Lil on the left.

100_2694

Lil very focused on her straw,lol.

100_2702

My daughter found the cool party favors!

100_2683

I had all the benches lined with hats and swords. There were 3 benches.

 

Look at this amazing gluten free cake Jessi got! All of this is edible! Or was edible I should say,lol.

100_2669

8 responses »

  1. Pictures on the wall next to pirate of family very precious to see. I’ve seen your family in so many pictures and you in hardly any that it actually means something to me to see those memories of you guys. You’re MY balloon hero. πŸ˜‰

    • Awww! That made me good cry. Seriously, thank you. Sniffle sniffle. I really consider you an awesome treasured friend πŸ™‚

  2. OMG for a second there I thought you had made the pirate holding a sword with his hook! LOL This pirate really is incredible. GRRR if only you had had a mocha brown 660 πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

