151st Balloon Sculpture, Hiccup The Duck

Standard

Dylan Gelinas has a special promo going on where if you subscribe to his newsletter, you will get a free pdf tutorial of his very cute Hiccup the Duck.

His website where you find out more here, look under Store page, http://slightlytwistedballoons.com/

I found the pdf to be pretty good. He takes excellent clear pictures and that really makes it.

I unwittingly skipped a very small step that effects the look of the wings and bottom of face.

I also strayed from the deisgn in a couple places as I did not have all the materials that he suggests using and I used different sized balloons and added some black lining around the eyes. The feet I made just ever so slightly different as well. I also added a little hair like thing on the top of his head.

Again, Dylan is an excellent source for learning totally new techniques. I learned totally new approaches to sculpting from this tutorial.

Who would have ever dreamed that you could do soooo many amazing things with balloons. I am ever happily amazed!

Here is my replication.

20130322-110506.jpg

20130322-110520.jpg

 

 

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.) 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I rarely make criticisms, but I would have liked to have seen this particular design replicated with the agate blue and the correct yellow body balloon. I know as much as any twister it was purely for cost and convenience reasons to use subpar replacements, but I just think certain designs should be done at 100% specs especially if you are representing a featured artist. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Dylan is a freaking genius. I LOVE this guy! That “Magic Mouse” has to be one of the most epic balloon designs I have ever seen. So viscerally stunning! Perfection! On a level I can barely comprehend. Just genius. WILL be buying this design. As for his other sculptures, including this one, all are great but they just demand such specific balloons to make it perfectly, and that can be expensive. But when the quality of his work is this high, I am going to shell out for the agates and such.

Leave a Reply

