135th Balloon Sculpture, Column

Standard

Well I have been dying to make a balloon column for quite sometime. Unfortunately things are tight and I couldn’t go to Home Depot to make a base or buy a pole.

But as they say, necessity is the mother of invention. I tapped into my inner MacGyver and spent all day looking around the house and trying different things out.

I had 2 poles that I have no idea what they were used or made for that worked perfect for a pole for a column. I then experimented for bases and after failure after failure I managed to find that masking tape and a roll of velvet ribbon were the best combo, lol.

I took the end of the pole and wrapped it with masking tape until it fit snuggly into the hole of the spool of ribbon, lol. The ribbon thing is full and has never been used so it was weighty enough to keep the balloon column up. Pictures in bottom of post.

I had a hacksaw and used it to cut the poles to the needed length.

While I wouldn’t use that if hired for a gig, i would make a proper base, when you just want to learn and experiment for design sake it works just fine, Lol!

I found Andre Nolle’s column tutorial and loved it! Perhaps I am a sucker for the barber swirl in the center.

Andre of course does a fantastic job teaching and I found that you definitely want to follow his measurements.

I used a tape measure and body wash bottles to put a balloon between to make for good continuity and measurement. He uses a cardboard box that he had cut out holes for balloons to fit through for the same purpose.

I also combined the columns with the huge heart I made earlier and love them together!

Link to Andre’s turorial= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QI3QcDY4yU&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I stayed pretty faithful to the tutorial although I used different colors.

Below are pics of my replication and MacGyver problem solving, lol.

First, my base, lol.

20130211-184224.jpg

20130211-184232.jpg

 

20130211-184257.jpg

 

20130211-184331.jpg

 

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

