123rd Balloon Sculpture, Balloon Dalek Costume!

Standard

So some friends of mine named Jessi and Patrick are huge supporters of me and are great friends and they came to me with the challenge and request of making a Balloon Dalek Parody costume for Patrick for the upcoming Conooga, a Sci-Fi-Fantasy convention here in Chattanooga. It is in March.

A Dalek is a character from the show Dr. Who.

I could not believe they asked me to do this, lololololol.

I have never made a costume before and this is a WHOLE NEW LEVEL!

I was given a picture and was told which colors were desired and so since the balloons came in recently, today I took on the task. I was also told that he wanted to be able to kneel in it and wanted it to completely encompass him 360. Reference Pic below, plunger from older versions was also requested.

2013-01-24 09.05.26

(Today is the 4 month anniversary of when I began balloon sculpting. I started Sept 27th 2012 with the dog. Cool that this would be the day I would make my first costume, lol. Sweet!)

Can you say terrified and excited?!?!

No one else has a Dalek Balloon Costume that I know of, there certainly isn’t a tutorial for it and the only videos are of guys making a really simple small one like 1 ft. Tall! I have just seen small ones but not costumes. The small ones are actually pretty cute and would be great for party favors. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XV54SvC7nc0

I had to figure this out on my own! Again, terrifying and exciting!

I figured I should start with the center and work from there. I decided to basically make a birthday cake design for the center where the person’s eyes go. I guess that may be more of the top, lol. I figured if I could get the head piece right, everything else would flow from there.

I even figured out how to put a light inside the eye!

I know that I don’t have balls all around and that is because this is a prototype.

How I made this I don’t even know really, it just flowed and I was in the zone. I was not expecting to make it in one day, lololololol.

I felt like I was on an episode of the Unpoppables!

I used 160’s, 260’s, 350’s, 646’s and 5 in Rounds. I will check with Patrick to see if he wants black trim on the bottom or if he prefers the purple on bottom trim. I will also make the horns shorter and perhaps make them black, will also check with Patrick about that, color of the horn things,lol. I will also make the the part where the glowing eye goes inside black instead of grey. I am going to see about making the top a little shorter to get more of an oval look. I need to make the layers shorter faster, I think if it has one less level it will be better.

This took me 8 hours to make but next time it should be much faster because I won’t have to problem solve and experiment.

I recorded my hubby modeling it and demonstrating that kneeling was possible.

So here is the video and pics!

Jessi, Patrick, thank you guys for believing in me and for being such wonderful supports and friends! Now I have another cool show to get into- I am starting with series 9. Great show!

I am just as surprised as everyone else, lol.

FYI, I love feedback so if you have any advice or like this piece, feel free to comment! πŸ™‚

20130127-211647.jpg

 

20130127-211810.jpg

Her Love Will Change Him,lol.

Balloona Magic 333

See, It Glows, Oooh,lol.

20130127-211858.jpg

20130127-211922.jpg

 

 

20130127-220234.jpg

20130127-220301.jpg

 

8 responses »

  1. I can imagine what is involved in making this. I LOVE IT! How many balloons does a costume require? The youth minister at my church wants balloon costumes for Vacation Bible School, and this type of thing actually looks achievable…with some luck of course. ANY help you could provide would be more than welcome.

    Amazing work!

    • Hey Chuck! πŸ™‚ So glad you like it! I would say that you definitely want to practice making happy cabbie’s birthday cake design. Measure your chest and shoulders and make a cake design around that. The rest flows from there. Sorry I can’t give better advice then that, lol. There is a lot to it and I am not a good technical communicator, lol.

  2. Hi ya Patricia. Absolutely love this. I have just recently started working with balloons and haven’t started modelling yet. My son has asked for a Doctor who themed party for his 9th birthday at the end of May and I’d love to be able to provide one of these for him. Do you have a tutorial for it at all? I would be so grateful if you do. I am UK based so would not be able to have you do one for me.

    Natasha.

    • If you are just starting out on balloon twisting may I recommend you start out with smaller versions like this one= you could have one for each kid as party favors or as center pieces for tables.The Dalek costume I made took 8 hours to make and the second one took 10 hours and I do not have a tutorial for it,lol.

      Here are a couple youtube videos that I think you would find helpful. Perhaps you could just scale them up to make for bigger ones? This is actually like a 10 part video but the first one is= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZgT7_BVXzA

      This is from a different guy= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUWT6okhofA

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Glad you like it! I feel like I have leveled up, lol. I don’t know if you have ever played DND or any kind of RPG but that is totally what it felt like, lol.

      I am going to make a different costume for their daughter too and will be working on a prototype for her soon, sometime in the next week or two.

Leave a Reply

