111th Balloon Sculpture, Large Teddy Bear

Standard

Arteglobos has a spectacular link-o-loon balloon teddy bear design. Now this is my kind of bear!

I did not want to shell out 20 bucks for a bag of the large link-o-loon style balloons and instead went with the 6 inch as it was a lot cheaper, lol. The six inch ones were like 8 or 9 dollars if I remember correctly. This is going by the T Meyers balloon website prices.

I know now how to better figure which ends to tie together now that I have made my first one. I also found that I had to do a pinch twist of the ears to better keep the head in place. Perhaps I need to fiddle with sizing. Next time I will try to make the balloons rounder and let more air out. I also think I would have done stomach the other way around, narrow end facing up, next time I will know. I may also make mouth or snout a little smaller as well.

I did 4-5 pumps for the small balloon parts and 9 to 10 for the large also letting a little air out.

I found this to be an awesome very doable design that I hope will cause major head explosions of joy! The.lady instructor speaks spanish so I personally have no idea what she is saying, but she does a pretty good job instructing. She doesn’t show some parts that I think she should though, I would say her instructional is good but incomplete.

Here is the link to video-

Part 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2_Pnc1pFkc

Part 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOsyHkA4oo0

Here is my replication of arteglobos’s design. I made a very pretty blue one too for my mom.

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.) 🙂

20130114-115509.jpg

 

20130211-230208.jpg

20130120-092349.jpg

9 responses »

  1. Do you think you will put a video up? it is very hard for me to follow the Spanish instruction. Also can you do this bear with 9 in balloons and 5 in balloons?

    • I do not think I will do a video since it isn’t my design. I am sure you could mix 9 inch rounds with 5 inch rounds but I am not sure how the results will look. Anything is worth experimentation.

  2. All I can think of when I look at this design is “Care Bear Staaaaaaare!” lololol So, have you seen Andre’s new Phoenix design yet?

    • Lol! No I haven’t seen it yet, will look at it today! I am guessing you mean Andre Nolle, one of my all time favs!

      • This is what I have been waiting for! I feel like this could be adpated so well for making serious bald eagles. I plan to make it tomorrow. Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

