85th Balloon Sculpture, Snow Globe!

Standard

Okay, so this really was an earlier learned design but I put off sharing it as I had to debate about it. Am I to have no tricks up my sleeve and no mysteries, am I to share all that I am learning and doing? Well I think yes, yes I should because it might help others as it has helped me and where is the spirit of pay it forward?

So, forgive me for the hoarding temptation and for the tardiness of this. Michale Floyd has a blog and also what looks to be an online store for tutorials. He has really moved up and I am very proud of him. I remember watching some of his earliest tutorial videos on youtube where he was just recording in his bedroom,lol. His production quality grew and now he has a store and really nice blog! You go Michael Floyd! I am cheering you on and appreciate all that you have done!

I saw this on his site and did pay for it. It made for the milestone of the first time I ever paid for a tutorial,lol.

It is a freaking snowglobe with a balloon inside another balloon?!?!

Now I went a little bit of an extra messy mile and experimented with adding snow and different resources for snow as well. I also went for slightly different balloons for the globe. The tutorial suggests you use clear with polka dots and I went for clear or snowflakes.

T. Meyers which I just found the past couple weeks ago has better deals on balloons and the shipping comes to me so fast just on regular that I don’t have to express ship to me. I get my stuff in two to three days- I was paying extra for that with Balloon Supply and T. Meyers has cheaper prices to boot!

I went with just your basic 12 inch clear balloons and also some snowflake designed balloons from T. Meyers. The Snowflake designed balloons broke easier but are cooler and the regular qualatex clear balloons worked great. Here is a link to the snowflake balloons. The clear balloons I got can also be found there.

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.) 🙂

http://www4.mailordercentral.com/tmyersmagic/prodinfo.asp?number=11RQISFA

I experimented with drawing and not drawing snowflakes on the clear balloons and I also experimented with tiny pom poms, paper, fake snow and tissue paper. I just used the fake snow once and just for myself as I read the contents were toxic for kids to eat and thought that not a good idea to have around. The pom poms are neat but are 1.00 per pack for a small pack and just are not economical. The tissue paper with glitter I found to be the best for what I want and cost-effective. Just shred it up as much as you can and stuff it in after you have gotten the balloon sculpture inside,lol.

I personally like the snowman design best from the tutorial and made a small penguin for the inside that I adapted from Holly Hopper, just made it smaller and less back and no tail. I found that if you make a penguin don’t do loops for the cheeks but bubbles twisted together as for some reason that makes it easier to make smaller and is also sturdier.

Be warned this is a pain in the butt to make but is sooooooo worth it!

Now note- I did eventually get 160 balloons for the snowmen hands and scarves that look way better- these were just my first runs and I didn’t have 160’s at the time. I have some videos of what it is like playing with the globes that really show the coolness even more but am having trouble loading it here- will post on youtube and then post link here. Also, in the video they suggest using 160’s for base as well as candy cane wand part- but I find a five loop base with a 260 is fine and the bigger candy cane wands make it look just more even north pole and cool to me. They suggest 160’s for both. I also found that some people want to put these on their desk or on a surface and so a big base without candy cane wand part works really well. I don’t have any pictures of the snowflake balloons I had, just video which will be coming soon.

For 5.00 the secret to instant head exploding fun can be yours via this site=
http://www.balloon-animals.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=61&osCsid=f0531d8ab7eeb59b8a1bb91a8ecf0eac

My daughter playing with one of the prototypes=

My husband playing with the pom pom snow version and snowflake balloon design=

2012-12-05 18.52.39

2012-12-29 10.42.34

2012-12-13 16.33.01

2 responses »

  1. Finally broke down and payed for the super-awesome stuff, eh? LOL. Nifty Balloons got me with their Super Hero Super-Suits! Well worth it, of course. I have never tried nor have even SEEN these snow globe balloons before. Mind-blowin’ balloony goodness! Appreciate the link, as well. I can just imagine what it must have been like to learn how to do these frustrating designs …. as Ricky Ricardo would say…. “Ay Yi Yi!” -Sage

    • I will have to look into the super suits! Thank you for the info on that!

      The snow globes are so worth it. I don’t know why but when I would shake and show them to people I would instantly turn into Sharon Osborne and with her accent and pitch i would excitedly say, “Look! It’s a snow globe! How did it get in there, nobody knows, it’s magic!”

      I personally think that adding snow inside really takes it to a much needed other level. Shaking it is soooo much fun for people and even adults want to shake it and it wows everyone. I have made them with and without snow and the joy and excitement people get from the snow inside is exponential in difference!

Leave a Reply

