41st Balloon Sculpture, Christmas Tree

Standard

I thought that Happy Cabbie had a nice Christmas tree design so I decided to give it a try. I found it to be fun to make as well as very doable with the exception that I do not have any geo balloons that he uses for a base to hold the tree up. It is really a great idea but they are very expensive and I just do not have any. I decided to try to make a base out of balloons. I will have to practice and experiment until I find a suitable solution. I am thinking I will probably need to make a plastic stand or use plastic sticks and foam to make a stand as the tree is too heavy for a balloon stand. I think though I will need to practice with sticks and foam anyway as I would like to make centerpieces and table decor.

I also found unicaw89 had an interesting Christmas tree design. I like both designs for different reasons. I think unicaw89’s design is better for making pine tree scenery and Happy Cabbie’s better for a Christmas Tree to decorate. I used stickers to decorate the Happy Cabbie design but will try making balloon ornaments next time. I admit, I could not follow unicaw’s base instructional for the tree. It requires popping in the design in a way I am not familiar with yet. I could not really follow him well on that.

I should also note that I learned how to make the star from watching ChiTwister. He does not talk and goes quickly but he does a great job showing you what he does and is an effective instructor.

Happy Cabbie’s tree video= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rXlXhVwxig

Unicaw89’s tree video= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_e66pQiL9rU

Below are my first tries at their designs.

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.  🙂

Leave a Reply

