2nd Balloon Sculpture, The Butt Cheeked Monkey

Standard

Well since balloon making felt so natural I decided to just skip into way more difficult sculpting,lol. Kind of like I just had my first swimming lesson, why not go to the deep end of the pool or try the ocean! I do NOT recommend that for swimming by the way! The next morning on the 28th of Sept, I looked up you tube videos and found Happy Cabbie’s amazing monkey balloon instructional video. With the dog I had an app that offered just a few balloon instructions for free and then they started charging. Instead of going with the app options I went straight to you tube. I came across the most awesome monkey I had ever seen. Comes complete with butt-cheeks! I love showing people their butt cheeks! It is the first detail I point out when showing them to people. How can you not just fall in love with this monkey?

It took me seconds to follow the app where as it took me 4 hours to be able to follow and understand Happy Cabbie,lol. Definitely found the ocean to be more challenging than kiddie pool. I kept with it and managed to make a monkey. I made a Kirby esq monkey as that is my 4-year-old daughter’s favorite character of all time. I then made a “spider monkey” which is where you make a monkey with Spider-Man colors and face paint. Not my idea again Happy Cabbie’s. I was not so good at painting the Spider-Man at first but after studying Spider-Man’s face became much better in the future,lol. I apologize for the terrible first spider monkey draft,lol.

I found his instructional video to be very well made overall. It took me a while to understand what was going where and something that struck me was that his balloons seemed easier to handle than mine. Apparently there are different balloon qualities?! That was new to me. He was able to blow up his balloons without a pump where as that was impossible for me. I found also since I had lower quality balloons I had to allow for much more slack or unblown end on my balloon to adjust for quality difference. He could manipulate his balloons far more easily.

I wouldn’t catch balloon quality details until watching more videos. Apparently 260 Q is where it’s at. Something else I would learn from watching future videos, my air pump is way suckier too! Who knew even the air pumps could be fancier?

Here is a link to Cabby’s instructional video= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6PX4ujHOZU

Below are my monkeys and their fabulous monkey butts!

(FYI, if you have any advice or feedback whatsoever- feel free to share in a comment below.)

One response »

Leave a Reply

